Blog Tour: The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas

Hello, friends! I’m so excited to participate in my first Xpresso Tours blog tour for The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas. Special thanks to Xpresso Tours for including me on this tour, and thanks to Netgalley, Swoon Reads and the author providing the e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Be sure to click on the banner above to check out the rest of the amazing bloggers on tour!

Goodreads: The Good for Nothings
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Publication Date: 04 August 2020
Genre: Young Adult SFF
Panda Rating:

They’re only good at being bad.
Cora Saros is just trying her best to join the family business of theft and intergalactic smuggling. Unfortunately, she’s a total disaster. After landing herself in prison following an attempted heist gone very wrong, she strikes a bargain with the prison warden: He’ll expunge her record if she brings back a long-lost treasure rumored to grant immortality.

Cora is skeptical, but with no other way out of prison (and back in her family’s good graces), she has no choice but to assemble a crew from her collection of misfit cellmates—a disgraced warrior from an alien planet; a cocky pirate who claims to have the largest ship in the galaxy; and a glitch-prone robot with a penchant for baking—and take off after the fabled prize. But the ragtag group soon discovers that not only is the too-good-to-be-true treasure very real, but they’re also not the only crew on the hunt for it. And it’s definitely a prize worth killing for.

Whip-smart and utterly charming, this irreverent sci-fi adventure is perfect for fans of Guardians of the Galaxy, The Lunar Chronicles, and Firefly

Buy: Amazon (US) |Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Google Play

Danielle Banas is the author of THE SUPERVILLAIN AND ME and THE GOOD FOR NOTHINGS. She earned a degree in communication from Robert Morris University, where she spent slightly too much time daydreaming about new characters instead of paying attention in class. When she isn’t writing, Danielle can be found loudly singing show tunes, spouting off Disney World trivia, and snuggling with her puppy. She lives in her hometown of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Website | Facebook | Twitter |Instagram | Goodreads

Note: The quotes below are taken from an advanced/unfinished copy and are subject to change in the final version.

The moment I saw this cover I knew that I would enjoy this book and I wasn’t wrong! This was a great ‘popcorn read’ that’s quick and easy to digest and full of fast-paced, space opera style drama and action. It gave me strong Guardians of the Galaxy, Aurora Cycle and Illuminae vibes and as those are some of my all time favourite space dramas, it was no surprise that this book sucked me into its orbit very quickly. While I wouldn’t say it’s the most original or entirely unpredictable, sometimes you just need a fluffy entertaining read that you can laugh with and this certainly delivered!

“It almost makes me feel… nice. Like… how an orange lollipop makes me feel nice.”

I loved Cora, Elio, Anders and Wren! They were the perfect group of rag tag misfits that you can’t help falling in love with. Although their friendship starts unconventionally–I mean, they meet in prison–and it was based on mistrust and lies to survive, I loved seeing all their characters grow and overcome their insecurities and fears to embrace the friendship. They all come from broken backgrounds with families who don’t care for them and their “quirks” have seen them be relatively friendless, but as they set off on this high-stakes action adventure, there’s a strong found-family vibe that develops and it’s simply heartwarming. Not to mention that the banter within the group is just hilarious! Although I loved each character, my favourites were definitely Elio and Anders. Again, while they’re not the most original of characters and they do fall into their tropes, they gave me all the warm cinnamon roll feels that I’m a sucker for!

“The way I feel about Wren is the way I feel about you, for example. I do not particularly want to talk to you, but also your existence doesn’t make me want to paint portraits on the corridor walls using nothing but your blood.”

If you’re looking for a book that has great friendships, a smol growing romance, a fast-paced space adventure full of crazy planets and creepy aliens, as well as found family vibes, I would definitely recommend this book.The Good for Nothings was such a fun ride and if the author decides to give these misfits more stories, I’d very happily read them!

Enter the Tour Wide Giveaway (US Only)HERE.
Giveaway ends 13 August 2020

Have you read The Good for Nothings or is it on your TBR?

9 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas

    1. The characters are what make this story! I would defo recommend it 🙂 It’s one of those reads that’s great for when you don’t want anything heavy but still be thoroughly entertained and have a good laugh. I hope you enjoy whenever you pick it up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s