#TopTenTuesday: Best Bookish Discoveries of 2019

It’s that time of the week again, friends! We’re back with another Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s prompt is: bookish discoveries I made in 2019 (these could be books, authors, blogs, websites, apps, products etc.).

I know I’m sounding like a broken record every time I say that 2019 was an insane bookish year but it really was. The number of bookish discoveries were plentiful, which makes choosing a focus for this week just a little tough. In the end, I decided to share a random mix of a very small number of my new favourite things!

New-to-Me Authors

Taylor Jenkins Reid
Mariana Zapata

Riley Sager
Kristin Hannah
Jane Harper

New Favourite Book Series

The Nevernight Chronicle
This one is really on surprise anymore considering how many times I’ve mentioned it before 😂

New-to-Me Audiobooks

Nevernight
Again, no surprises here. But of the whole series, this was still my favourite book and audio!

Daisy Jones and the Six
First full-cast production I listened to and it made the book for me. Fabulous performances!

Sadie
Another full-cast production that made this book amazing. Would highly recommend it!

New-to-me Websites

Book Depository
I don’t even know how I got my books before BD came into my life. I mean… How can anyone resist the temptation of ‘FREE DELIVERY WORLDWIDE’?! If you haven’t discovered BD yet, well, you’re welcome 😉

What were some of your favourite bookish discoveries in 2019?

37 thoughts on “#TopTenTuesday: Best Bookish Discoveries of 2019

  1. Seems like lots of people (including me) discovered Taylor Jenkins Reid this year! And as for Book Depository – I’ve known about them for ages, and I even joined their affiliate program! There are other sites that have free international delivery, but this one is the best I’ve found.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think 2019 was really TJR’s year 🤣 I noticed her on a lot of peoples lists too. I think the hype around Daisy Jones really brought her name into the spotlight! Joining BD’s affiliate program sounds cool. I wonder if I’ll be able to do that seeing as I’m international and in an obscure country lol will have to check it out! I do wish some of the cheaper secondhand stores (like Book Outlet) delivered intl though!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I would defo recommend those two audiobooks! I don’t listen to audios a lot but those two are one of my top listens! Sadie is also very short so that’s a perk! I’m so glad I picked up Nevernight last year. It was incredible and actually I also recommend that on audio too! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

    • TJR is definitely in that league for me and I have a feeling Hannah will be too, although I’d definitely love to read more of her books! I loved all the books I read by both authors in 2019 though. Such emotional reads!

      Like

  2. Taylor Jenkins- Reid for sure! I really enjoyed her Maybe In Another Life and definitely want to read more of her books. Riley Sager is also someone I’d like to read.

    Book Depository is great too, I’ve used them a few times now and have been very happy (plus it’s often a matter of something I can only get through them, that amazon doesn’t have, etc).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maybe in Another Life is definitely one of my all time favorites! It’s just such a feel good book but then also really relatable and I like the idea of the premise 🙂 I defo want to read more Sager this year too!

      As an international book lover, my favorite part about BD is the free shipping. It’s so expensive when ordering books off Amazon or any of the other usual channels (like B&N, Waterstones etc.) that it just makes more sense to use BD, even if they don’t have special edition versions.

      Like

    • I think you’d really enjoy TJR, Jen! Such evocative writing. I always get so damn emotional reading her books 😂You should defo try BD! The free shipping is the main selling point for me but they do have a wide range of books!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes I’m surprised when people still haven’t heard of Book Depository because I thought it was more well-known worldwide. But I’m glad more people are discovering it now. It’s awesome! 🙂

      Like

    • Right?! I’m so glad I finally gave Sadie a go and on audio too. I think it would’ve been different if I read it physically or as an ebook! The Lost Man was great but I think my fave Harper is still The Dry 🙂 Can’t wait to see what they do with it in the adaptation!

      Like

Leave a comment