Goodreads Monday – 21 October

We’re back with another Goodreads Monday, a weekly meme started by @Lauren’s Page Turners. This meme invites you to pick a book from your TBR and explain why you want to read it. Easy enough, right? Feel free to join in if you want to! I’ll be using a random number generator to pick my books from my insanely long GR Want-to-read list.

This week’s book is The Snowman (Harry Hole #7) by Jo Nesbo. I think I vaguely remember adding this to my list after seeing Michael Fassbender on the movie poster (in 2018) and realizing it was a book before it was a movie 🤣I unfortunately only managed to get my hands on the movie-tie-in cover but it’s not the worst I’ve seen… The book has a pretty great rating of 4.08 stars with 96,300+ ratings and 7,700+ reviews!

Soon the first snow will come

A young boy wakes to find his mother missing. Outside, he sees her favourite scarf – wrapped around the neck of a snowman.

And then he will appear again

Detective Harry Hole soon discovers that an alarming number of wives and mothers have gone missing over the years.

And when the snow is gone…

When a second woman disappears, Harry’s worst suspicion is confirmed: a serial killer is operating on his home turf.

…he will have taken someone else

Why do I want to read it?

I had no idea this was book seven of a series but I also heard that this was the best of the series? I do like a good thriller and this one definitely sounds like it’ll be a good one! It obviously doesn’t get cold here but I think it’d be perfect to read over the Christmas holidays or as a winter read. I think I do want to watch the movie as well, but I definitely want to read the series first. I don’t actually know if the movie is any good (I haven’t seen reviews) although it was in the cinema for a while, if I’m not mistaken.

Have you read The Snowman or any books in the series? Do you want to?
Leave me a comment and let’s chat!

11 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday – 21 October

    • HAHAHA EVIL FROSTY!!! Nooo… I don’t think it’s about an actual killer snowman 🤣 But tbh I don’t think so. Just a man, who comes and kills in the snow? Maybe? I don’t know. Wouldn’t it be cool if it was a killer snowman!? 😂

      Like

  1. FASSY! Omg Nen and I go *slightly* crazy for him since he played mini-Magento. His voice ❤ We're definitely going to watch and read this. Is it okay to read the book even though its #7 in the series? Or would we have to start from the beginning do you think? Jen

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAAAAAAAAASSSSS FASSY 😍😍😍 I’m totally objectifying him right now but ugh, his eVERYTHNG. I can’t. I’m a big fangirl 🤩haha I think I heard that it’s OK to read it from #7. There are things you obviously miss learning about Harry Hole’s character from earlier books, but I heard that Hole’s character in the earlier books is quite annoying but he gets better by book 7 haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • HAHA Nen and I objectify him all the time 😛 You won’t get any judgement from us!!! Sweet, I’ll check it out and give it a try. Thanks for letting me know Dini 🙂

        Like

  2. this
    sounds
    like
    my
    JAM

    it sounds really interesting!!! I have a thing about reading series out of order so i’ll have to start from the beginning but idk I love winter reads and thrillers make me go crazy lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAS GIRL I can totally see you reading this one!!!! I have a thing about reading series out of order too but I’m a little lax with it when it doesn’t matter so much if the earlier books are read or not.

      Like

Leave a comment