#TopTenTuesday: Books with Extraordinary Titles

It’s that time of the week again, friends! We’re back with another Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s prompt is: extraordinary book titles (submitted by Elise @ A Book and a Cup). I struggled a little with this one because extraordinary? What exactly makes a title extraordinary? It’s completely subjective, and I’m sure what I’d find extraordinary wouldn’t be the same for someone else. But…here’s a list of book titles (read and unread) that I think are amazing!

READ

The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton. There was a bit of a trend with these kinds of titles in the last year, but the ½ in this title really intrigued me–how does someone die a half death? Unfortunately for me, I didn’t love the book as much as I enjoyed the title though I know a lot of other people did!

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khalid Hosseini. Even if I didn’t know what this story was about, there’s something about this title that just completely pulls me in. I guess that makes it extraordinary to me?

Where the Forest Meets the Stars by Glendy Vanderah. I don’t know if it’s just me, but the image that forms in my mind from reading this title is magical and thus, I think the title is extraordinary. I found the story to be just as enchanting, too!

Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann. The title of this non-fiction was what caught my attention because I just wanted to know what it could mean and then it ended up being one of my favorite reads of 2018! I was surprised by how quickly I was absorbed by Grann’s writing and highly recommend this if you’re interested in true crime and maybe even learning about the birth of the FBI!

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender. I still haven’t written a review for this one, but rest assured I loved it. The build up was agonizingly good and the chemistry between our two MCs was so 🔥 !

UNREAD

Ten Thousand Doors of January by Claudia Gray. I think this title is extraordinary because it brings such a clear image to my mind, but it also makes me want to picture who exactly January is, where these doors lead and how they’re discovered in the first place.

The Library of the Unwritten (A Novel from Hell’s Library #1) by A.J. Hackwith. I mean, a novel from Hell’s Library? Why does that intrigue me so much and why does it make this a must read for me? Again it comes back to the imagery that the title conjures up in my head.

A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer. There’s something about this title that just pulls at my heartstrings because it brings such a clear image to mind about the characters and the story. I think it’s such an awesome title.

Beneath A Sugar Sky & Down Among the Sticks and Bones (Wayward Children Series) by Seanan McGuire. To be honest, I find all of the titles for the books in this series absolutely compelling. That’s actually the reason why I wanted to pick it up the books in the first place 😂

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt. I remember hearing about this book for the first time when I was a middle-schooler and I found myself absolutely mesmerized by it. The cover also makes me even more intrigued by the premise and title!

What do you think of these titles? What makes a title extraordinary to you? If you’ve done a TTT for today, please leave your links in the comments so I can mosey over to your blog and check it out! 🙂

31 thoughts on “#TopTenTuesday: Books with Extraordinary Titles

  1. I agree that “extraordinary” is a bit vague and totally subjective… so I just went with titles I liked or that were unique to me. I tried reading Midnight in Garden of Good and Evil many years ago but just couldn’t get through it. I was intrigued by the Savannah, GA setting because I’ve been there many times. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake is definitely an interesting title!

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books
    http://girlplusbooks.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Where the forest meets the stars is such a gorgeous title. The imagery it evokes… Beautiful. And omg yes, the particular sadness of lemon cake. Certainly one of the most beautiful titles out there and quite befitting of the book. Great TTT Dini :)))

    Like

  3. I almost added The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle to my list for the exact reason you stated! What is a half death? Is it like beating someone half to death? Is necromancy involved?! I need answers! I love the title A Heart So Fierce and Broken, too. It’s really so evocative, and fierce and broken, at first blush, are antonyms, but not really when you think about it, and it’s got a sort of resolve and forcefulness behind it that i love. Down Among the Sticks and Bones is also really fun to say.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RIGHT? What is a half death? I honestly for the life of me cannot even remember whether that was answered in the book (I don’t think it was). I was pretty disappointed with it but I know a lot of people really enjoyed it! AHSFAB is really evocative and ugh, reading the title already gives me the feels. I have a feeling I’m gonna get emotional! Haha I can’t wait to read it 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love The 7 1/2 Deaths of evelyn Hardcastle, and as it turns out I’ve been wanting to read that one too haha! Although I’ll go in with tempered expectations, as I know a few other people besides yourself who didn’t LOVE it. Also, Where The Forest Meets The Stars is SUCH an evocative title- I imagine being in a dark woods looking up at a star- strewn sky. How cool that would be!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve still heard more people enjoy it compared to those who didn’t. I hope you enjoy it though, Greg! I was just… Really confused by it? Haha I also really love the title WTFMTS. It really does conjure up such an amazing image in my head, and I thought it matched the story really well too! 😍

      Like

    • I was surprised how much I struggled with it because before I picked it up so many were raving about it and I was like… What am I missing though!? It does have a great title though… Lol 🙈

      Like

  5. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake 🎂 TAKES THE CAKE!! 😍😍😍❤️❤️ THAT ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS COVER!! THAT TITLE!! 😍😍😍😍❤️ And WHERE THE FOREST MEETS THE STARS I’d soooo fucking gorgeous tooo!! 😍😍❤️❤️❤️

    LOOOVEDD THIS POST, Dini!! 😍😍💕💕👻👻

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You’ve got some great ones on this list! I don’t know anything about it, but like the “Ten Thousand Doors of January” title; Brigid’s and Seanan’s are also so intriguing too!! And someday I want to read Brigid’s as I hear her first fantasy novel is quite impressive. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment