Friday Favorites: Autumn Reads!

It’s time for another Friday Favorites hosted by Kibby @ Something of the Book! This weekly meme is where you get to share a list of all your favourites based on the list of prompts on Kibby’s page. Sounds fun, right? This week’s prompt is: autumn reads! If you’ve been following my blog or any of my socials for a while now, you’ll know that I’m an epic mood reader. I don’t really set TBRs, they’re more like possibility piles that I never really get to in the end? But I also don’t generally read based on seasons. While this is mostly because of my mood, I also live on a tropical island where there’s only one season: STEAMING SAUNA HOT. But when I think of autumn, I tend to think of thrilling/spooky reads a la Halloween, pumpkin spice and all things nice, and also, witches? Here’s a list of 5 books I haven’t read yet, but that I think would make the perfect autumn read. Kidding, I’ve already read one of them!

Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell and Faith Erin Hicks (Illustrator)
This is the first book that comes to mind because in my eyes it is the epitome of fall. Just look at that cover! But it’s set in the Disneyland of pumpkin patches, it’s filled with delicious fall foods/drinks, and the story warms your heart and makes you want to wrap yourself up in flannel!

The Rules of Magic by Alice Hoffman
I haven’t read this one yet, and neither have I read Practical Magic, but this definitely fits with my thoughts on Halloween vibes with a little bit of witchy magic! I hope it doesn’t freak me out lol

These Witches Don’t Burn by Isabel Sterling
I’ve heard a lot of good things about this read. I’ve actually just now noticed that it’s a series (oops) but I think witches + fall do make for a perfect combination!

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
When I think of autumn and the cooling weather, I also can’t help but get some melancholy twinges, and I think that fits well with how this book is likely to make me feel. I’m gonna be a wreck!

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman
Sometimes you just need a book that you can cozy up with under your doona and that’ll make you feel all warm inside after you finish reading it. I think Nina Hill is going to be one of those books!

Are you a seasonal reader? What are some of your favourite autumn reads? Leave me a comment below and let’s chat!

17 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: Autumn Reads!

      • I’ve never joined a challenge. My challenge right now is October 1st/8th/15th. And it is just not all gonna happen. And I’m just gonna have to accept that lol. I overdid the ARC thing in October. Plus the mood reading did me in because I read some stuff out of order and I was ahead of the game and would’ve been fine for October but I did it too much. Now not so much. And I really killed myself with ARCs in Oct. Badly. I did fine in Sept. Learned my lessons and applied them well. October is bad. :/

        Like

      • Oh! I linked you in my 500 page list today. Tell me if you get the ping back? I don’t know if it’ll work because I didn’t think of it till after I initially posted it, and went back to edit it with the links.

        Like

    • Ooh, yay! I hope you enjoy it. I’ve heard it’s quite emotional and I can just imagine reading it curled up in bed with a nice warm drink *imagining leaves falling outside and that I was living somewhere with four seasons instead of on a tropical island* 😂😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ooh love the list!! Pumpkin heads honestly looks so cute 💙 It’s pretty much perfect autumn vibes! I tried The Bookish Life If Nina Hill but ended up putting it down. Hopefully I’ll try again soon 🙏 Jen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pumpkinheads is so so cute! 100% recommend it 😃 Oh no, sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy Nina Hill when you tried it. It’s definitely one of the more hyped books I’ve come across this year (on bookstagram anyway) but the majority of people have enjoyed it. Perhaps I should keep my expectations low so I don’t get disappointed! 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Steaming sauna hot sounds miserable. You can have some of my cool weather. I’ll send it your way. 😉

    I so want to read These Witches Don’t Burn! But also, as October approaches, I’m really thinking I should read A Monster Calls, because if this isn’t the perfect time for a book like that, I don’t know what is.

    Like

Leave a comment