#TopTenTuesday: Favorite TROPES!

It’s that time of the week again, friends! We’re back with another Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s prompt is: favorite tropes. Does the topic of tropes feel overdone? Maybe, but it’s still fun to do every now and again! I know I’ve actually done a post on favorite tropes last month, (Friday Favorite: Tropes) but I also only listed five, so I thought I’d list another five on this post because there are always more tropes that I find I love and hate every time I open a book. TL;DR my other trope post, I’ve already listed: enemies-to-lovers, (best) friends-to-lovers, villain redemption, brooding characters who are actually cinnamon rolls with marshmallow hearts, and friendships formed during trying times.

Small Town Romance
I love a good romance and I especially love a good romance that’s set in a small town. You know, the ‘old-timer’ meets the ‘new-comer’, they’ll probably clash because they don’t see eye-to-eye, they’ll find the other incredibly attractive but they’d never admit it, and everyone and their friend will be scheming to get them together or pull them apart. Families play a big role in these types of dramas too! It’s got a good mix of many things that I love and I’m always here for it!

Found Family
I know this sounds very similar to ‘friendships formed during trying times’ but I see it as a step beyond that, when friendship groups turn into family. This trope is always so heartwarming and I will always love a good story with a found family!

Multiverses / Alternate Dimensions
I don’t know how I became obsessed with the idea of multiverses and alternate dimensions but I can’t get enough of stories that have multiple dimensions or universes where multiple yous and outcomes are infinitely possible. I’m not a science person, so I don’t know the accuracy of whatever is being spouted, but to be honest, I don’t care as long as it’s enjoyable!

Quests/Hunts
I love it when a book includes a good quest or hunt to find the truth about something. I love the search for clues, trying to decipher meanings, but also the bonds that form in the characters throughout their journey!

Magical Competitions
I’m definitely thinking along the terms of Harry Potter’s Triwizard Tournament and The Essen Tasch from Gathering of Shadows! Who doesn’t love a good magical duel (and obviously the part where the MC impossibly kicks the rude opponent’s ass)?! Yaaas!

What are some of your favorite tropes? If you’ve also done a TTT for today, don’t forget to leave your links in the comment and let’s chat 🙂

27 thoughts on “#TopTenTuesday: Favorite TROPES!

  1. I love pretty much all of these tropes, too. xD Great minds think alike? Found families is always great, because oof, my heartstrings. Quests and hunts are basically my guilty pleasures, because even if it’s super cheesy, I just can’t get enough.

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh yassss to multiverse theories in books! I love that so much but conversely I get annoyed by it a lot too because the endings get too predictable lol!! What am I like Dini, never happy … Great TTT my friend <3333

    Liked by 1 person

    • HAHA nothing wrong with knowing what you like and having high standards, Emer! 😉 I think I’m probably just too easy to please, and as long as it doesn’t leave me feeling irked or like something’s missing, I’ll generally love it? 😂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely get what you mean. Especially as I get older, the idea of found family appeals to me even more because I did the same for myself IRL. Not saying that my fam isn’t cool but my friends have become my fam too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love found family stories! And small town settings, both for romance and generally, are always a win. 🙂

    And I love love love multiverses. Alternate versions and timelines- the possibilities are just awesome.

    Like

  4. I’m a bit more hot-and-cold with your first list, but this second list of tropes I 100% agree with! I don’t know how I managed to forget found family on my list (thanks for visiting BTW!) but these are all excellent choices. Magical competitions and quests are two of my favorites for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yesss! Honestly, give me all of these but also mostly give me more alternate universe and found family based stories!! I am 100% trash for those two and I’m so pressed that my brain just didn’t even begin to think to include them on mine. Oops! Anyways, great picks.

    Like

  6. I know it’s in your other trope post, but I’m all about a good friends romance, and when done well, I like the enemies-to-lovers trope too! Usually the latter has the best witty dialogue. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland this week. I appreciate it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Enemies to lover is SO good and the good/best friends to lovers has a soft spot for me. I’m such a sucker for these tropes 😂 Defo there for the witty and often super sassy dialogue!

      Thanks for stopping by my blog too! 🥰

      Like

    • Haha I totally agree! One of my favorites recently has been That Second Chance by Meghan Quinn. I just finished the second book in the series but it involves a super idyllic and cute small town with a host of meddling family members and hilarious (and hot) brothers! 😍

      Like

Leave a comment