The Joy of Christmas Book Tag

🎄 HAPPY CHRISTMAS, FRIENDS! 🎄

Yay for more holiday tags to add a little change of scenery on this blog! 😂 I saw this fun tag on Georgia @ Lost in Neverland‘s blog and decided to give it a go myself—and what better time to do a Christmas tag on Christmas itself? 😉

This tag was originally created by booktuber Sam @ Sam’s Nonsense! Now, let’s get to it…

Anticipation: The Christmas excitement is real, what book release(s) are you most anticipating?

I actually don’t have a lot of books on my 2022 list yet and haven’t taken a proper look at all the lists I’ve seen floating around… But from what I’ve added to my smol list on Goodreads, I reckon I’m most excited for Love & Other Disasters by Anita Kelly!

love & other disasters

Recently divorced and on the verge of bankruptcy, Dahlia Woodson is ready to reinvent herself on the popular reality competition show Chef’s Special. Too bad the first memorable move she makes is falling flat on her face, sending fish tacos flying—not quite the fresh start she was hoping for. Still, she’s focused on winning, until she meets someone she might want a future with more than she needs the prize money. Read more…


Christmas Songs & Carols: What book or author can you not help but sing it’s praises?

There are actually two books that immediately came to mind right now. Both have been loved this year, though one has been more hyped than the other, but both were five star reads and I haven’t had much opportunity to gush about them, but they’re *chefs kiss* perfection. The books are: Battle Royal by Lucy Parker and The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood. Seriously, I love these couples. Their chemistry, their banter, the slow burn! I’m not much of a re-reader but I know I won’t be able to resist with these gems 😍

Battle Royal Cover

Ready…
Four years ago, Sylvie Fairchild charmed the world as a contestant on the hit baking show, Operation Cake. Her ingenious, colorful creations captivated viewers and intrigued all but one of the judges, Dominic De Vere, the hottest pastry chef in London. When her glittery unicorn cake went spectacularly sideways, Dominic was quick to vote her off the show. Since then, Sylvie has managed to use her fame to help fulfill her dream of opening a bakery, Sugar Fair. The toast of Instagram, Sugar Fair has captured the attention of the Operation Cake producers…and a princess.
Read more…

The Love Hypothesis Cover

When a fake relationship between scientists meets the irresistible force of attraction, it throws one woman’s carefully calculated theories on love into chaos.
As a third-year Ph.D. candidate, Olive Smith doesn’t believe in lasting romantic relationships but her best friend does, and that’s what got her into this situation. Convincing Anh that Olive on her way to a happily ever after was always going to be tough, scientists require proof. So, like any self-respecting woman, Olive panics and kisses the first man she sees. Read more…

Check out my review!


Gingerbread Houses: What book or series has wonderful world building?

The Hand of the Sun King by J.T. Greathouse is one of the few fantasies I’ve read this year but the world building was immaculate. This is a slow burn fantasy but it’s so worth the ride because aside from amazing world building, the writing is stunning!

the hand of the sun king

My name is Wen Alder. My name is Foolish Cur.
All my life, I have been torn between two legacies: that of my father, whose roots trace back to the right hand of the Emperor. That of my mother’s family, who reject the oppressive Empire and embrace the resistance.

I can choose between them – between protecting my family, or protecting my people – or I can search out a better path…
Read more…

Check out my review!


A Christmas Carol: Favorite classic or one that you want to read

I don’t read many classics but I read the Manga Classics of The Count of Monte Cristo and it made me immediately want to read the original! The chonkiness is pretty intimidating though… 😅

the count of monte cristo

Thrown in prison for a crime he has not committed, Edmond Dantes is confined to the grim fortress of If. There he learns of a great hoard of treasure hidden on the Isle of Monte Cristo and he becomes determined not only to escape, but also to unearth the treasure and use it to plot the destruction of the three men responsible for his incarceration. Dumas’ epic tale of suffering and retribution, inspired by a real-life case of wrongful imprisonment, was a huge popular success when it was first serialized in the 1840s. Read more…


Christmas Sweets: What book would you love to receive for Christmas

I have a whole post about books on my wishlist, and while there are tons I can choose from, I’d really love to get Daughter of the Deep by Rick Riordan. It looks so good 😭

daughter of the deep

Ana Dakkar is a freshman at Harding-Pencroft Academy, a five-year high school that graduates the best marine scientists, naval warriors, navigators, and underwater explorers in the world. Ana’s parents died while on a scientific expedition two years ago, and the only family’s she’s got left is her older brother, Dev, also a student at HP. Ana’s freshman year culminates with the class’s weekend trial at sea, the details of which have been kept secret. She only hopes she has what it’ll take to succeed. All her worries are blown out of the water when, on the bus ride to the ship, Ana and her schoolmates witness a terrible tragedy that will change the trajectory of their lives. Read more…


Candles in the Window: What book gives you that warm fuzzy feeling?

With the Fire On High by Elizabeth Acevedo wormed its way into my heart so quickly that I devoured this book in one sitting. It’s got delicious food/recipes, a wonderful protagonist, great supporting characters, and it’s simply a heartwarming story all around!

with the fire on high

Ever since she got pregnant freshman year, Emoni Santiago’s life has been about making the tough decisions—doing what has to be done for her daughter and her abuela. The one place she can let all that go is in the kitchen, where she adds a little something magical to everything she cooks, turning her food into straight-up goodness. Read more…


Christmas Trees & Decorations: What are some of your favorite book covers?

There are too many to list so I decided to share one of my personal favourite bookstagram posts from when I used to post back in the day! 😆 It took me a while to lay it all out to make it look *seamless* but I had such a fun time making this photo and it displays some of the gorgeous book covers on my shelf!


Christmas Joy: What are some of your favorite things about Christmas And/Or some of your favorite Christmas memories?

My family and I don’t actually celebrate Christmas but I’ve spent a few Christmases with ex-partners and their families and some friends who really celebrate and I absolutely love the festive atmosphere. The cold weather (hey, I live in the tropics lol), the warm drinks, the delicious foods, the music (yes, yes) and of course the spirit of being with family and being thankful and sharing gifts (who doesn’t like getting gifts? But also getting someone a gift they love is such a great feeling 😍)!

And that’s it from me! I won’t be tagging anyone so if you see this and wanna do it, go wild (feel free to tag me so I can see your answers, too)! 😍 I hope everyone has had a good Christmas despite the panorama.

11 thoughts on “The Joy of Christmas Book Tag

  1. What a fun tag! I’m so glad you enjoyed Battle Royal — it was one of my favorites this year, too, and I’m excited for the sequel! Also, Count of Monte Cristo is a brick, but it’s SO worth it. I’m hoping to do a reread in 2022, so I’m here if you need a reading buddy for motivation!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m *so* excited for the sequel of Battle Royal! The glimpses we got of the couple already had me giggling like a silly goose 😆 It’s gonna be so much fun! Ooh, I think I’d definitely be up to try a buddy read for Monte Cristo! I have a pretty free year (as I’m hoping to cut down on ARCs and tour reads lol) so will definitely message you about it if you’re still up for it!

      Like

      • Ahhh they look so cute! I love a big bear of a man falling for the dainty-but-still-badass gal!

        Just let me know when you’re ready, and I will be there!

        Like

Leave a comment