Top 5 Saturday: Books with Plant/Flower Covers!

We’re back with another Top 5 Saturday! Just in case you don’t know Top 5 Saturday is a weekly meme created by Mandy @ Devouring Books and it’s where we list the top five books (they can be books on your TBR, favourite books, books you loved/hated) based on the week’s topic. You can see the upcoming schedule at the end of my post 🙂 This week’s topic is: books about plants/flowers (can be on the cover, in title or plot)!

I’ve only ever read one book that’s about plants specifically and it was a horror novel that left me feeling extremely uncomfortable being around any vine-y plants for quite some time! Thanks to The Ruins for that nightmare!

I think having flowers and leaves on covers has been a big trend in recent years as I’ve seen my fair share of them. I’m admittedly a sucker for these kinds of covers though! They’re eye-catching, bold and colourful but also sometimes just really appealing in their simplicity. That said, I don’t think any of these are actually about plants/flowers, so this is going to be an appreciation post for books on my TBR with plants/flowers on the cover!

In 1950, a young doctor called Norton Perina signs on with the anthropologist Paul Tallent for an expedition to the remote Micronesian island of Ivu’ivu in search of a rumored lost tribe. They succeed, finding not only that tribe but also a group of forest dwellers they dub “The Dreamers,” who turn out to be fantastically long-lived but progressively more senile. Perina suspects the source of their longevity is a hard-to-find turtle; unable to resist the possibility of eternal life, he kills one and smuggles some meat back to the States. He scientifically proves his thesis, earning worldwide fame and the Nobel Prize, but he soon discovers that its miraculous property comes at a terrible price. As things quickly spiral out of his control, his own demons take hold, with devastating personal consequences.

After reading A Little Life and being completely emotionally and mentally devastated, I was eager to pick up Yanagihara’s debut, The People in the Trees. It doesn’t look like it’s going to completely wreck me, but the synopsis sounds really intriguing and I’m looking forward to reading it.


Find the heir, win the crown.
The curse is finally broken, but Prince Rhen of Emberfall faces darker troubles still. Rumors circulate that he is not the true heir and that forbidden magic has been unleashed in Emberfall. Although Rhen has Harper by his side, his guardsman Grey is missing, leaving more questions than answers.
Win the crown, save the kingdom.
Rumored to be the heir, Grey has been on the run since he destroyed Lilith. He has no desire to challenge Rhen–until Karis Luran once again threatens to take Emberfall by force. Her own daughter Lia Mara sees the flaws in her mother’s violent plan, but can she convince Grey to stand against Rhen, even for the good of Emberfall?
The heart-pounding, compulsively readable saga continues as loyalties are tested and new love blooms in a kingdom on the brink of war.

Despite being one of my most anticipated reads for 2020, I still haven’t got around to reading A Heart So Fierce and Broken yet (surprise lol) 🤪 I’ve heard so many mixed reviews that I’m legit terrified to pick it up now but I know I won’t let it linger for too long. I’m thinking whether I should wait read it towards the end of 2020 so there’s less waiting time for the next book, if I do love it (or even if I don’t)?


Kimi Nakamura loves a good fashion statement.
She’s obsessed with transforming everyday ephemera into Kimi Originals: bold outfits that make her and her friends feel like the Ultimate versions of themselves. But her mother disapproves, and when they get into an explosive fight, Kimi’s entire future seems on the verge of falling apart. So when a surprise letter comes in the mail from Kimi’s estranged grandparents, inviting her to Kyoto for spring break, she seizes the opportunity to get away from the disaster of her life.
When she arrives in Japan, she’s met with a culture both familiar and completely foreign to her. She loses herself in the city’s outdoor markets, art installations, and cherry blossom festival – and meets Akira, a cute aspiring med student who moonlights as a costumed mochi mascot. And what begins as a trip to escape her problems quickly becomes a way for Kimi to learn more about the mother she left behind, and to figure out where her own heart lies.
In I Love You So Mochi, author Sarah Kuhn has penned a delightfully sweet and irrepressibly funny novel that will make you squee at the cute, cringe at the awkward, and show that sometimes you have to lose yourself in something you love to find your Ultimate self. 

I couldn’t not add I Love You So Mochi to my TBR, especially with a title that cute. The cover is also super adorable with all those cherry blossoms and even better is all the positive reviews I’ve seen about it. I guess it’s as cute on the inside as it is on the outside 🌸


In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut.
In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity herself. As the ward of the wealthy Mr. Locke, she feels little different from the artifacts that decorate the halls: carefully maintained, largely ignored, and utterly out of place. Then she finds a strange book. A book that carries the scent of other worlds, and tells a tale of secret doors, of love, adventure and danger. Each page turn reveals impossible truths about the world and January discovers a story increasingly entwined with her own.
Lush and richly imagined, a tale of impossible journeys, unforgettable love, and the enduring power of stories awaits in Alix E. Harrow’s spellbinding debut–step inside and discover its magic.

The Ten Thousand Doors of January is another highly anticipated and very hyped read that’s on my TBR and I don’t know why I feel wary whenever I think about picking it up. I think I have to make sure I’m in the right mood to read this one as I heard the pacing can be a bit slow? Look at all those beautiful flowers on the cover though 😍


Heaven is a thirty-year-old slum hidden between brand-new, high-rise apartment buildings and technology incubators in contemporary Bangalore. In this tight-knit community, five girls on the cusp of womanhood-a politically driven graffiti artist; a transgender Christian convert; a blind girl who loves to dance; and the queer daughter of a hijabi union leader-forge an unbreakable bond. When the local government threatens to demolish their tin shacks in order to build a shopping mall, the girls and their mothers refuse to be erased. Together they wage war on the bulldozers sent to bury their homes, and, ultimately, on the city that wishes that families like them would remain hidden forever.
Elegant, poetic, and vibrant, A People’s History of Heaven takes a clear-eyed look at adversity and geography and dazzles in its depiction of love and female friendship.

I haven’t got around to reading A People’s History of Heaven but it sounds like a heartwarming and inspiring book! I love the brightness of the colours and the simple design with the frangipani’s on the cover, too! I’ve heard some good things about it and can’t wait to *finally* read it!

Upcoming Schedule:

Do you like books with flowers or plants in the cover or title? Have you read any of these or are they also on your TBR?

24 thoughts on “Top 5 Saturday: Books with Plant/Flower Covers!

  1. Ahh I love The Ten Thousand Doors of January! I think it can be a little slow-going at first, but once you reach the 100-page mark the story really kicks into gear and I couldn’t put it down. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it! One of these days I need to cross A Curse So Dark and Lonely off my TBR. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Okay, that’s good to know before going into it! I’ve heard the audiobook is also great so I’m tempted to do a listen/read along with it! I feel like there are always those really popular books you need to cross off your TBR but it takes ages for it to actually happen 😂 Hope you enjoy it whenever you do get to it, Jess!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such pretty spring/summer covers! I haven’t read any of these either, and I’m on the fence about A Heart So Fierce and Broken. I wasn’t a huge fan of the first one, but I may still read it someday. Maybe after I see what you think. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh no! Sorry to hear that you weren’t such a fan of the first one. I really enjoyed it but I’ve heard some incredibly mixed reviews about book two and … Yeah. Not sure when I’m going to pick it up 😂 Will definitely let you know how it goes 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have had Ten Thousand Doors on my TBR forever but I was just saying that I’m guessing that I’m going to end up reading Harrow’s upcoming witch book, first!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yes! In october…I have an ARC. It is from Orbit and is about witches…. damn it I can’t remember the name but it is on NetGalley and EW if you look up by author. Once and Future Witches, I think?

        Like

Leave a comment