Top 5 Saturday: Books with the Scariest Covers!

It’s time for another Top 5 Saturday, a weekly meme created by Mandy @ Devouring Books and this week’s topic is: books with the scariest covers. If you don’t know me by now I’m letting you in on a not-so-big-secret: I’m a BIG chicken. Like, all the ghosty-spooky things are really not my jam! So it should come as no surprise that I have few to no books with scary covers on my shelf. I actually just acquired one today and since figuring out what’s on the cover, I’ve been sufficiently freaked out 😂Just to be clear, I had to look up some scary covers for this one and I think it’s safe to say that I’ll be sleeping with the lights on tonight 🙃Also, I totes realize that what’s scary for me probably won’t be that scary for others; I’m really that much of a wuss! LOL (and of course a dog starts barking loudly and abruptly while I’m writing this post, shattering the complete silence of the evening. How am I getting to sleep tonight?!)

Rules for Vanishing by Katie Alice Marshall
I honestly didn’t figure out what was on this cover until I saw it about six times. When it clicked I just went: OMFG and closed the tab. Of course when I saw it at the bookstore today I went ahead and picked it up anyway — my excuse is that I’m challenging myself to read outside of my comfort zone this month? I’m really just a masochist who loves to torture herself by getting even less sleep than usual!

I Am Legend by Richard Matheson
I haven’t read this book but I’ve seen the movie and all I can remember from it are the dogs that die and that absolutely broke my heart 😭This cover is sufficiently creepy though! Especially with that red background!?

Unwind (Unwind Dystology #1) by Neal Shusterman
The whole silhouette of the hand pressed up against a barrier is one of those ‘iconic’ creepy pictures that never fails to have goosebumps breaking out over my skin. It’s just CREEPY AF.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Graham-Greene and Jane Austen
I remember how shook I was the first time I saw this cover. I almost dropped the book in shock and immediately looked away. I came back to it after mustering some guts and found myself oddly repelled and fascinated by the zombie half of such an iconic image 😂

Night of the Living Dummy (Goosebumps #7) by R.L. Stine
Look, I know this is kids book, but can you tell me you don’t get at least a little bit freaked out when looking at that cover? I mean… DUMMIES. CREEPY DUMMIES. I honestly can’t believe I ever checked this book out of the library as a kid (let alone the countless other Goosebumps tales I devoured). Pretty sure that I already hated dolls/dummies by the time I picked this one up LOL

Alright, that’s it folks. I’m now off to read something HAPPY AND FLUFFY to get these images out of my head! We’re totally fine. What are some of the scariest covers you can think of? Are you a lover of things that go bump? Maybe come let me know in the comments and let’s chat? 😂

23 thoughts on “Top 5 Saturday: Books with the Scariest Covers!

    • Finding covers for this post was scary enough. I didn’t even want to think about opening the scarier ones and saving the pics on my computer OR WordPress image library 😂 These are bad enough! Haha

      Like

  1. OMG DINI!!!!!!!!!!!!! That Rules for Visiting cover… YOU JUST MADE ME STARE FOR LONGER THAN I CARE TO ADMIT….. i get it now though… I think. There’s a figure of a girl right???? I don’t know why you want to read it though. HAVE YOU CHANGED PERSONALITIES WITH AMANDA bahahahahahahahaha I kid… Good luck with it. I shall be off reading my nice safe reads lol <3333333

    Liked by 2 people

    • LMAOO EMER you got it right. It took me a really long time to figure out what the hell this cover was. I swear it was just creepy creepy forest leading me to creepy places that I wouldn’t want to go ever. I’m pretty sure I’m 1,000% channeling Amanda this month because I’M SUCH A CHICKEN. I can no longer stare at this cover without a shiver running down my spine and I’m honestly terrified. But I’ma do it. Hahaha I’ll be joining you in the nice safe reads space very soon after for the regular programming 😂🤣😂🤣

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m still traumatised from a scary Nancy Drew book I read when I was 9….. So yes. Won’t be joining in with the scary reads month 😂😂

        Like

  2. Okay so I AM LEGEND’s cover SCARED ME THE FUCK OUT!! WOWWW!! Still experiencing chills from seeing those creepy red skulls and …God that vibe! And GOOSEBUMPS gave me a serious case of goosebumps..DAMN, Dini! WHAT DID YOU DOOOO!;?? I AM HOLDING YOU RESPONSIBLE IF I START EXPERIENCING NIGHTMARES!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha I know. I actually scroll down through this post very quickly now because I don’t need to be seeing these freaky covers again, thank you very much! 🤣I’m sorry if these covers give you nightmares! Hahaha I slept with my light on 🤪

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a WIMP when it comes to scary things! I haven’t actually read a scary book so my Top5 this week was finding ones that I hadn’t read (and probably never will haha). This is going to sound silly of me but I can’t see what’s in the Rules for Vanishing cover?? Maybe I need to stare at it more… Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahah to be fair I don’t think I’ll end up reading any of these books except for Vanishing. But I’m going to take my time with it and keep it strictly to day-time reading 😂Maybe this is why I’m craving romances so much?! Haha no worries, it took me ages to see what was on the cover for Vanishing. There’s a silhouette of a girl (with her hair hanging down) on the cover! I didn’t realize that it was actually hair and not just some hanging leaves/branches that look like hair 🤣🙈 Can you see it?

      Like

    • Goosebumps was definitely one of the first books that I thought of for this. Some of their covers are SO creepy I have no idea how I read them as a child 🤣🙈🤣🙈I hope I enjoy Rules for Vanishing too–I feel like if I don’t give it a try I’ll feel major FOMO lol

      Like

  4. I’m a big chicken, too, and oh noooo, that dog has both perfect and horrible timing. xD

    The cover for I Am Legend is super creepy … but the movie wasn’t really all that creepy? I don’t do zombies or zombie movies/shows, but this isn’t really zombies. It’s like … evolved/mutated humans, so they weren’t really all that scary to me.

    You know, I don’t even think Unwind is supposed to be scary, is it? But yeah, that whole foggy hand look is creepy in and of itself. OMG I ALSO HATE DUMMIES. WE SHOULD BE FRIENDS. Oh, wait … xD Dummies and dolls have always creeped me out.

    Like

Leave a comment