‘Lover’ Book Tag!

After Taylor Swift launched her latest album Lover, Sara @ The Bibliophagist decided to create her very first tag for the songs on the album. I don’t know much about TS outside of her music and what I learn about her through the songs, but I’ve really enjoyed her last three albums. Since this one released I’ve been listening to it on repeat and you can bet that as I answer this tag, I’m listening to it yet again. Thanks for the tag, Sara! 💞

The Rules

  • Link back to the creator, Sara @ The Bibliophagist!
  • Answer the questions!
  • Tag whoever you want and link back to the person who tagged you!

I FORGOT THAT YOU EXISTED: A book from your childhood that you don’t remember anything about

♪ it isn’t love, it isn’t hate, it’s just indifference ♪

There are tons of books that I remember reading and loving as a kid but don’t remember anything about now. The covers will look familiar but that’s about it! Julie of the Wolves is one.

CRUEL SUMMER: The worst book you’ve read this summer

♪ it’s blue, the feeling I’ve got and it’s… it’s a cruel summer ♪

It sounded cute and mysterious. It was giving me all the summer vibes, but I just couldn’t with this.
I Spy the Boy Next Door was not only disappointing but creepy AF. Just read my ranting review.

LOVER: A bookish relationship that’s perfect exactly the way it is

♪ can we always be this close forever and ever ♪

JOSH AND HAZEL. They’re still one of my favourite couples and I love their hilarious & awkward banter. I’m sure there are also some other great couples out there, but I always think of them first!

THE MAN: A book with a badass female main character

♪ if I was a man, then I’d be the man ♪

I honestly don’t think I can think of a more badass female MC than Mia Corvere in Nevernight. She’s flawed, to be sure, but she’s also a super skilled, sleuth, and badass assassin with a not-cat and not-wolf as shadowy fear-eating companions. I mean…

THE ARCHER: A book with great character development

♪ I see right through me ♪

Isabelle and Vianne went through so much in The Nightingale, it was inevitable they would go through major character development. They learn so much about themselves, what they’re willing to give and how far they’re willing to go for those they love. I thought it was so well done!

I THINK HE KNOWS: Your fictional crush

♪ he got my heartbeat skipping down 16th Avenue ♪

Is it really fair to have me choose only ONE fictional crush? I mean… There are so many? I really live vicariously through my books 😂I’m going to choose the sky cowboy, Jonah, from The Simple Wild.

MISS AMERICANA & THE HEARTBREAK PRINCE: A book set in high school

♪ waving homecoming queens, marching band playing, I’m lost in the lights ♪

I’ve come to realise that I really don’t read a lot of books set in high school. But in Autoboyography, Tanner and Sebastian meet in Seminar (a high school class), and it obviously sets the ball rolling for their complicated, heartbreaking and hopeful relationship. So, that definitely counts, right?

PAPER RINGS: A book with a happy ending

♪ I like shiny things, but I’d marry you with paper rings ♪

So many books to fill this prompt but Leon and Tiffy absolutely deserved that sweet and heartwarming happy ending in The Flatshare. They deserve everything!

CORNELIA STREET: A setting you’ll never forget

♪ “I rent a place on Cornelia Street,” I say casually in the car ♪

There are just way too many settings to choose from but I think I’m going to go with one from our real life: Alaska. The brutal, breathtaking and unforgiving landscape of Alaska was so incredibly brought to life in The Great Alone. It’s actually one of my favourite book settings.

DEATH BY A THOUSAND CUTS: A book that broke your heart

♪ I can’t pretend that it’s okay when it’s not ♪

Daisy Jones seriously broke my heart. There was so much heartache, longing and hurt. Even in the format the story is told, which you’d think would make it feel impersonal, I felt everything. I was so damn torn up about the characters–I hated and loved them and it was a rollercoaster!

LONDON BOY: A setting that plays a big role in the story

♪ show me a gray sky, a rainy cab ride ♪

The space and space ship setting in The Loneliest Girl in the Universe played a huge role in the story. The book wouldn’t have been half as psychologically creepy/eerie if the setting had been different!

SOON YOU’LL GET BETTER: A book that made you cry

♪ what am I supposed to do if there’s no you? ♪

I’m a weepy reader. It doesn’t take much for me to cry! Even though I really didn’t expect it, The Grace Year had me proper crying at the end. It wasn’t all sad tears though!

FALSE GOD: A book with a well-written sexy scene

♪ I know heaven’s a thing, I go there when you touch me, honey ♪

After the intense build up of chemistry between Jack and Rose (yes, I know), the sexy scene that *finally* happened in Marriage for One was ALL FIRE (seriously, wooh 🔥)!

YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN: A book featuring an LGBT romance

♪ shade never made anybody less gay ♪

Adam Silvera has become a favorite when it comes to LGBT romance. If you can’t tell from the title, They Both Die At the End kinda shreds your feels (just a little bit)! It’s not a happily ever after ending but I loved the romance. But I especially loved Mateo’s character, as he was honestly just too pure!

AFTERGLOW: A great second chance romance

♪ why’d I have to break what I love so much? ♪

I honestly can’t remember the last time I read a second-chance romance until That Forever Girl at the end of August. Their chemistry was waiting patiently bubbling under the surface!

ME!: Your All-time favourite book

♪ I promise that you’ll never find another like me ♪

Ugh, it’s so hard to answer this question. I really don’t have one? But if I’m really being forced to choose, I’ll say Pride and Prejudice because duh.

IT’S NICE TO HAVE A FRIEND: Your favourite friends-to-lovers book

♪ something gave you the nerve to touch my hand ♪

Love and Other Words is a great friends-to-lovers story but it’s also a great second-chance romance. This was my first CLo book and ugh, my feels! I was really not expecting it.

DAYLIGHT: A book with a positive message

♪ you gotta step into the daylight and let it go ♪

Everyone’s a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too it a short and sweet graphic novel with a positive message that will almost certainly put a smile on your face.

I’m tagging: Rissi | Leelynn | Nen & Jen | Veronika | Alys | YOU!
No pressure to do this tag if you don’t want to, but if you do, I’d love to see your answers!

21 thoughts on “‘Lover’ Book Tag!

    • Please do! I’d love to see your answers and next time I do a tag I’ll be sure to tag you 😃 I never know who loves to do tags and I feel like I just keep tagging the same bloggers over and over again 😂

      Like

  1. This was a great tag! Loved your answers. i’d never go to Alaska though – maybe in the summer? Can you see the northern lights in the summer? And i’m in a minority here, but I never read pride and prejudice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha honestly I have some weird obsession with Alaska and I have no idea why other than I think the wildness of it just ignites my curiosity! But I would defo go there in the summer too 😂I think you can see the Northern Lights then… Although I’m not too sure 🙃
      Also, you’d be surprised by how many people I’ve learned haven’t read P&P! Haha I know it’s like one of the most hyped books of all time, but I’d definitely recommend it 😍

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha yeah, I do tend to get carried away with my rambling 😂🙈 I feel like I need to find a way to re-read the book and see if it triggers any memories! Lol
      I hope you enjoy Daisy Jones when you read it. I absolutely loved it 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment