Top 5 Saturday: Road Trip!

It’s time for another Top 5 Saturday, a weekly meme created by Mandy @ Devouring Books and this week’s topic is: books with a road trip. I have admit that I struggled with this week’s prompt because I couldn’t recall reading any books with literal road trips involved. So I decided to loosely interpret the prompt into characters hitting the road or going on an adventure too — it’s still the same thing, right? 😅 Here’s a mixed bag of books I have read and want to read!

American Gods by Neil Gaiman
It’s like the most epic road trip of all time for Shadow? A lot people are on the fence about American Gods but this sucked me in almost as quickly as Neverwhere did. It’s a bloody crazy story!

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
This is one that I still haven’t read yet but I’m keen on reading more John Green books. Sounds like an interesting, albeit a little quirky, story and there’s a road trip involved (apparently)!

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Sisterhood #1) by Ann Brashares
I mean okay, it’s not a typical ‘road trip’ but these pants do make their way around the world on various trips. That counts right? Lol My friends and I loved this story so much, we decided to do our own version but instead of pants we did a sisterhood of the traveling scrapbook. It was great!

The Mother Road by Meghan Quinn
This is another one I haven’t read yet but I’ve only discovered Quinn a month back, and have loved what I’ve read by her so far. This one sounds like a funny romance, with lots of meddling family antics involved as well (which I usually find hilarious) so I’m keen to check it out 🙂

Northern Lights (His Dark Materials #1) by Philip Pullman
Lira goes on an insane trip, across what feels like the world, to save her friend and the other missing children in this book. It’s a wild ride but highly enjoyable!

What are your favorite books with road trips?
Please leave me some recommendations in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Saturday: Road Trip!

  1. I think it’s like a prerequisite for John Green to have a road trip in his books lol! So many of them feature the characters heading off out in the car somewhere :))) Great post Dini

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everyone is always free to interpret the topics loosely! American Gods was a great choice for this topic! I read the first half of the book and really enjoyed it and then sadly I lost my copy. But I did really enjoy the first season of the show

    I’m going to have to check out The Mother Road, it looks interesting! I also am dying to read the His Dark Materials series!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh no! Sorry to hear you lost your copy. I’d definitely get a new one to finish the book lol I haven’t seen the show although I’ve heard great things about it. One day though!
      I’m excited to read The Mother Road. I’m saving it as a palate cleanser for all the fantasy I plan to be reading this month! 😂 I also definitely wanna read the rest of His Dark Materials before the show comes out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment