#TopTenTuesday: Books to Read If You Like Small Town Romance…

So, we’re back with another Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s prompt is: Books to Read If You Love/Loved X (X can be a genre, specific book, author, movie/TV show, etc.). 

I wasn’t quite feeling this week’s topic because I’m not all that great at recommending anything to others whether it’s books, shows, movies, etc. I wasn’t sure what I would’ve gone with either but as I’m currently reading a romance series set in a small town, I thought why not just share a list of my favourite small-town romances? I know this is a pretty specific sub-genre but I love a good small-town romance especially when the town feels like its own character. There’s so much family and friendship history in these romances, plus, there are meddling townspeople that are usually well-meaning and endearing! With all the history there’s always lots of friends-to-lovers, second chances, enemies-to-lovers, and marriages of convenience—all of which are some of my favourite romance tropes!

havenbrook series

I thought it’d be fitting to start my recommendations with the series I’m currently reading and devouring. Havenbrook is the kind of small town where hallmark movies are made! I’ve only read one novella and two books from the main Havenbrook series but I absolutely adore the Haven Girls and their men! So far we’ve had opposites attract, age-gap, and second chances, and I’m here for it all ❤️

getting lucky series

Port Snow is probably one of my all-time favourite small-town settings. It’s been a while since I read the last book in the series but the town is still as clear in my mind as the first time I read it. This series about the Knightly brothers and their local “legend” status, plus their hilarious family, the nosy local community and many shenanigans, have second chances, friends-to-lovers and opposites attract! I love it so much 💙

moose springs, alaska series

Alaska is one of my favourite settings so what’s better than romances set in a small Alaskan town?! Moose Springs is full of very territorial and crabby tourist-hating locals but these romantic comedies were fun, wild and are sure to make you laugh (and swoon)!

WELL MET

Emily knew there would be strings attached when she relocated to the small town of Willow Creek, Maryland, for the summer to help her sister recover from an accident, but who could anticipate getting roped into volunteering for the local Renaissance Faire alongside her teenaged niece? Or that the irritating and inscrutable schoolteacher in charge of the volunteers would be so annoying that she finds it impossible to stop thinking about him? Read more…

I’ve only read the first book in the Well Met series but I love the small charming town of Willow Creek and well, the ren faire is also like a little town on its own, too!

the Switch

Eileen is sick of being 79.
Leena’s tired of life in her twenties.
Maybe it’s time they swapped places…

When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen’s house for some overdue rest. Eileen is newly single and about to turn eighty. She’d like a second chance at love, but her tiny Yorkshire village doesn’t offer many eligible gentlemen.
Read more…

This has a romance but it’s definitely more than that but it’s partially set in a small English town, and the other part is set in London focused on a small knit community (that gives you the small town feels). This was a wonderful heartfelt story!

the simple wild

Calla Fletcher was two when her mother took her and fled the Alaskan wild, unable to handle the isolation of the extreme, rural lifestyle, leaving behind Calla’s father, Wren Fletcher, in the process. Calla never looked back, and at twenty-six, a busy life in Toronto is all she knows. But when her father reaches out to inform her that his days are numbered, Calla knows that it’s time to make the long trip back to the remote frontier town where she was born. Read more…

Another favourite that’s set in a small town in the Alaskan wild. This enemies-to-friends-to-lovers romance swept me right off my feet (hello, Jonah!) and I fell in love with the setting even more!

THE Mistletoe trap

From the moment Julie sees her best friend, Gavin, in the airport, it’s like no time at all has gone by instead of months and months. No matter how long they’ve been apart, their relationship has always been steady, comfortable, and decidedly just friends. Even though their meddling parents have hung what seems like unlimited amounts of mistletoe everywhere she goes this holiday season, Julie knows some things will never change. Read more…

This was a really fun and funny best friends-to-lovers romance set in their small hometown. It’s full of meddling well-meaning mothers and their set-up schemes as well, which was also half the fun!

JINGLE WARS

Two inns, one town, and there’s not enough room for the both of them.
Add in a reindeer-ish donkey, a Christmas competition, and a rivalry to end all rivalries and you’re bound to end up in disaster, right?
Finn Mayberry has enough on his plate trying to keep his Grandparents inn afloat. The last thing he needed was some California state of mind starlet bulldozing into his town and throwing up a five-star resort right next to his family’s inn.
But, now she’s here and he can’t get her out of his town or his head. Read more…

A cheeky and steamy holiday romance set in a small-town in Colorado! This is a romance between rivals and so expect lots of hilarious shenanigans and festive fun—oh, and prepare to laugh a lot!

THE MAGIC INGREDIENT

The end of summer is approaching, but even at the height of Bar Harbor’s tourist season, Eve Silver is having a hard time keeping enough dough in the bank to sustain the family bakery. Her only hope of paying past due bills is to win the catering bid for the town’s upcoming Harvest Happening festival. Otherwise, it’ll be lights out for Mount Desserts by Christmas. Read more…

I’m a bit of a sucker for romances that involve baking and this one had me drooling with all the baked goods involved! Plus, it’s a sweet closed-door romance with older protagonists finding new love, all set in a charming small town leading up to the holidays.

Do you like small-town romances? Have you read any of these or are they on your TBR? What are some of your favourite small-town romances? I’d love to know!

41 thoughts on “#TopTenTuesday: Books to Read If You Like Small Town Romance…

    1. I might be biased but ugh, the Quinn series is absolute perfection to me! I love everything about the series and the books are just so easy to read and they hit you all in the feels too ❤️ Ah, I love the Knightly brothers lol

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is so much fun! I think I will take a look at The Alaska Series. Small Town Murder Mysteries are more my cup of tea, but romance every now and then are always fun.

    Thanks for visiting me earlier!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Moose Springs series is a lot of fun—so much cheeky banter! Perhaps diving into small town romances will be a good break between small town murder mystery reads 😃 I hope you enjoy them if you give them a try!

      Like

    1. Ooh yes, would definitely recommend checking out these series. The Getting Lucky series is just *perfection* (but I might be biased cos I love it so much 😂) but I do hope you enjoy them too if you give them a try!

      Like

  2. I love small town romance, or any romance for that matter. lol The Mistletoe Trap was super cute – love their whole BFFs turned romantic couple storyline. And Well Met is one my TBR. I’ve heard a lot of good things about that series! Great list, Dini! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh wow I love those Morganthaler covers! So beautiful! And while I haven’t read a lot of romance I do like a good story set in a small town!

    Well Met looks fun too with that Ren Faire setting. Have seen lots of good reviews for it…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They’re really eye-catching aren’t they? I’m such a sucker for illustrated covers and the Moose Springs books immediately caught my eye! Well Met is a pretty popular title (and for good reason)! Ren Faires sound so fun lol

      Like

  4. Oooh, great choice this week, Dini! And I always love your recommendations. I’ve either read or want to read all of these, except for The Havenbrook series and The Magic Ingredient, which are both new to me. I’ll definitely be checking them out now! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I *still* haven’t read the Moose Springs books but they seem so fun! Perhaps once I re-discover my reading gene I can pick them up. 🙂 Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland on this week, Dini.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s