Top 5 Saturday: Science Fiction Books

Welcome back to another Top 5 Saturday! Just in case you don’t know Top 5 Saturday is a weekly meme created by Mandy @ Devouring Books and it’s where we list the top five books (they can be books on your TBR, favourite books, books you loved/hated) based on the week’s topic. You can see the upcoming schedule at the end of my post 🙂 This week’s topic is actually: science fiction books!

Oof, do I have a lot of these or do I really have a lot of these on my TBR? 😅 I found a love for SF books when I first started reading Michael Crichton’s books back in 2010. I can’t even remember when I started reading more SFF but I do have quite a few that I’ve added to my TBR, especially in the last year+, thanks to all your wonderful recommendations. The five below are ones I already have on my physical/digital libraries and they’re just waiting to be read… (lol what’s new) I have to admit that I’m most excited to get to Becky Chambers’ books because I’ve heard endlessly good things about them!

(book covers are linked to the Goodreads pages!)

the long way to a small, angry planet // wayfarers series

Follow a motley crew on an exciting journey through space—and one adventurous young explorer who discovers the meaning of family in the far reaches of the universe—in this light-hearted debut space opera from a rising sci-fi star.

Rosemary Harper doesn’t expect much when she joins the crew of the aging Wayfarer. While the patched-up ship has seen better days, it offers her a bed, a chance to explore the far-off corners of the galaxy, and most importantly, some distance from her past. An introspective young woman who learned early to keep to herself, she’s never met anyone remotely like the ship’s diverse crew, including Sissix, the exotic reptilian pilot, chatty engineers Kizzy and Jenks who keep the ship running, and Ashby, their noble captain.

Life aboard the Wayfarer is chaotic and crazy—exactly what Rosemary wants. It’s also about to get extremely dangerous when the crew is offered the job of a lifetime. Tunneling wormholes through space to a distant planet is definitely lucrative and will keep them comfortable for years. But risking her life wasn’t part of the plan. In the far reaches of deep space, the tiny Wayfarer crew will confront a host of unexpected mishaps and thrilling adventures that force them to depend on each other. To survive, Rosemary’s got to learn how to rely on this assortment of oddballs—an experience that teaches her about love and trust, and that having a family isn’t necessarily the worst thing in the universe.


kindred

Octavia E. Butler’s 1979 masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi’s Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayòbámi Adébáyò.

In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.

When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he’s drowning. She saves his life – and it will happen again and again. Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them.

And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it’s even begun.

Octavia E. Butler’s ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time.


this is how you lose the time war

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder. 

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. 


recursion

Memory makes reality.

That’s what New York City cop Barry Sutton is learning as he investigates the devastating phenomenon the media has dubbed False Memory Syndrome—a mysterious affliction that drives its victims mad with memories of a life they never lived.

That’s what neuroscientist Helena Smith believes. It’s why she’s dedicated her life to creating a technology that will let us preserve our most precious memories. If she succeeds, anyone will be able to re-experience a first kiss, the birth of a child, the final moment with a dying parent. 

As Barry searches for the truth, he comes face-to-face with an opponent more terrifying than any disease—a force that attacks not just our minds but the very fabric of the past. And as its effects begin to unmake the world as we know it, only he and Helena, working together, will stand a chance at defeating it.

But how can they make a stand when reality itself is shifting and crumbling all around them?


skyward

Defeated, crushed, and driven almost to extinction, the remnants of the human race are trapped on a planet that is constantly attacked by mysterious alien starfighters. Spensa, a teenage girl living among them, longs to be a pilot. When she discovers the wreckage of an ancient ship, she realizes this dream might be possible—assuming she can repair the ship, navigate flight school, and (perhaps most importantly) persuade the strange machine to help her. Because this ship, uniquely, appears to have a soul.

September Schedule:

  • 12 Sept 2020 – Science Fiction Books
  • 19 Sept 2020 – Award Winning Books
  • 26 Sept 2020 – Guilty Pleasure Reads
  • 03 Oct 2020 – Intimidating Books

Are you a fan of science fiction? What are some of your favourites from this genre and have you read any of the ones on this list?

23 thoughts on “Top 5 Saturday: Science Fiction Books

  1. O, so many nice books on this list!
    I have read Recursion recently with my book club – very action packed but I very much enjoyed reading it.
    This is how you lose the time war I read last year and for me personally, it was one of the year’s favorites. But I do have a soft spot for time travel.

    Kindred has also been recommended to me a lot, and I am very curious to hear what you think of the Becky Chambers book. I have been planning to read it, but so far I haven’t managed to read it yet…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, that’s great to hear! I’ve been meaning to read Recursion ever since it came out but I haven’t got around to it yet (surprise, surprise lol)! I really enjoyed Dark Matter (his first book) so I’m hoping to feel the same about this one! Also, I’m so excited to read This is How You Lose the Time War–I’ve heard really good things about it and I’m looking forward to picking it up soon 🙂

      I always find there’s so little time to read all the books I want LOL but I’ve really been thinking about picking up Becky Chambers’ books soon because I keep hearing amazing things about it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Blake Crouch has written many books. I read Dark Matter – which is similar in style to recursion – but also Abandon, which is more a standard kind of thriller. Apparently he also write to Wayward Pines series, which got good reviews also – but I haven’t read it.

        Yes, exactly: so many book so little time…
        Hope you will enjoy them 🙂

        Like

    1. Yay, adding to the TBR! Lol I did hear Recursion was quite good so I’m looking forward to reading that at some point. Hopefully this year? It was hotly anticipated last year and yet it’s still lingering on my TBR 😅 Hope you enjoy the ones on your list and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m looking forward to all of these. I’ve heard so many incredible things about Becky Chambers’ books so I’m especially keen to start (also coz I jumped the gun and bought all the books already LOL). I really enjoyed Dark Matter by Crouch so I’m hoping that I love Recursion just as much! Hope you enjoy This is How You Lose the Time War 🙂

      Like

  2. Becky Chambers and Brandon Sanderson would also be on my list if I had written one – they’re currently both sat in my TBR shelves (I can no longer call it a pile 😂).
    Have you read the Jurassic Park books or Pirate Latitudes? I keep thinking about whether to read them or not.
    Happy weekend! ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LMAO I’m totally with you on that one. There’s no way I can keep tricking myself into believing my TBR is anything less than a shelf *welp* 😂 I keep myself I really need to get cracking on these reads! I have read Jurassic Park but that was ages ago (2010/11) but I do remember enjoying it. I wasn’t very picky with my reads back then though and it was one of my first forays into SF. Been thinking about a re-read at some point! I have Pirate Latitudes on my shelf actually (LOL) but I’ve heard some pretty mixed reviews so I’m not sure if/when I’ll pick it up. Hope you had a lovely weekend! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Kindred would also be my first Butler whenever I do pick it up but I’ve heard all the good things. I feel like it’s a staple that I can’t miss out on, I just need to find time to squeeze it in (what’s new there, eh)! Lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m excited for a couple of these! Someone gifted me This is How You Lose the Time War a while back and it is short and just looks interesting! Also, I love Sanderson, so I want to read Skyward.

    I did read Recursion and while I had some mixed feelings about the actual book, I loved how it really got me thinking and it sparked so many fascinating conversations after I finished it that afterwards I think my review should go from 3 to 4 stars. Looking back I feel like I was too critical.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s