Goodreads Monday – 05 August

It’s time for another Goodreads Monday, a weekly meme started by @Lauren’s Page Turners that invites you to pick a book from your TBR and explain why you want to read it. Easy enough, right? Feel free to join in if you’re feeling it! I think from this week’s post onward, I will use a random number generator to choose the books for this weekly meme!

This week the random number generator picked #151 on my GR ‘to-read’ list, which means the book this week is: The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill. I added this to my GR in 2017. It has a GR rating of: 3.77 stars.

The Lonely Hearts Hotel is a love story with the power of legend. An unparalleled tale of charismatic pianos, invisible dance partners, radicalized chorus girls, drug-addicted musicians, brooding clowns, and an underworld whose economy hinges on the price of a kiss. In a landscape like this, it takes great creative gifts to thwart one’s origins. It might also take true love.

Two babies are abandoned in a Montreal orphanage in the winter of 1910. Before long, their talents emerge: Pierrot is a piano prodigy; Rose lights up even the dreariest room with her dancing and comedy. As they travel around the city performing clown routines, the children fall in love with each other and dream up a plan for the most extraordinary and seductive circus show the world has ever seen.

Separated as teenagers, sent off to work as servants during the Great Depression, both descend into the city’s underworld, dabbling in sex, drugs and theft in order to survive. But when Rose and Pierrot finally reunite beneath the snowflakes after years of searching and desperate poverty the possibilities of their childhood dreams are renewed, and they’ll go to extreme lengths to make them come true. Soon, Rose, Pierrot and their troupe of clowns and chorus girls have hit New York, commanding the stage as well as the alleys, and neither the theater nor the underworld will ever look the same.

Why do I want to read it?

I’d actually forgot what this book was about until I read the synopsis just now. While I can’t say that I remember reading this synopsis before, I can now say that I really want to read this book. It’s actually said to have ‘echoes of The Night Circus‘, so I think I must’ve added it to my list before I read The Night Circus because I don’t think I would’ve added it to my list after 🙊Not saying anything against that book but I felt a bit let down by it, and didn’t end up loving it as much as everyone else. After reading the synopsis of this one, you can already see some similarities, but I think The Lonely Hearts Hotel sounds like a darker and more sinister version of TNC, and I like the sound of that! Maybe I won’t get to this one in the very near future, but I hope to get to it eventually.

Have you read The Night Circus or is it also on your TBR?
Let me know your thoughts in the comments below and let’s chat books
!

4 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday – 05 August

  1. I read this an arc and if it hadn’t have been an arc I would have DNFd it almost at page one. It’s quite disturbing with a lot of needless graphic imagery in my opinion. I felt incredibly uncomfortable reading it 🙈 But then I’ve seen other reviews of people loving it so who knows! Maybe you’ll be one of those :)))

    Like

Leave a comment